• zh-hans
  • tr
  • ru
  • fr
  • es
  • en
  • de
10 Jan 2019

Poroshenko: Two Million Ukrainians Benefited From Visa-Free Regime With Schengen States, so Far

Two Million Ukrainians Benefited From Visa-Free Regime With Schengen States, so FarAround two million Ukrainian citizens have benefited from visa-free regime with the Schengen countries, since an agreement to abolish the regime between both parties came into force.

According to a press release issued by the administration of the State Border Guard Service of Ukraine, more than two million Ukrainians traveled to the Schengen countries since June 11, 2017.

“The most active movement of Ukrainians is registered at the border checkpoints with Poland (694 thousand crossings), as well as through the air conveyance (674 thousand crossings). In addition, Hungarian (248 thousand), Romanian (236 thousand) and Slovak (142 thousand) border checkpoints remain active,” the release explains.

Further, it notes that while in December 2017, 36 thousand trips were registered, in December 2018, the number climbed up to 152 thousand.

The press release highlights that Ukrainian citizens made 33 million trips to the EU countries since June 2017, however only 2 million of them were without visas.

It also notes that within the scope of its competence, the State Border Guard Service of Ukraine has fulfilled all the tasks set out in the action plan on EU visa liberalization for Ukraine.

“157 border crossing points are equipped with biometric controls equipment and connected to Interpol databases, while modern technical tools allow to automatically check all types of biometric documents,” it says.

The Ukrainian President, Petro Poroshenko took to Facebook to show his joy for this number.

“Two million Ukrainians have already benefited from visa-free regime with the EU! We now have a visa-free regime with over 100 countries of the world. And we continue to open the world for Ukrainians, and Ukraine for the world!” he wrote.

Ukraine achieved visa liberalization with the Schengen countries in May 2017. Since then on, its citizens had the opportunity to travel to the Schengen states for tourism and business without the need of obtaining a visa.

Related information data-matched-content-rows-num="4,3" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,3" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked,image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">