EU to end internal Schengen visa controls by November

EU countries that imposed border controls in the passport-free Schengen area because of the migrant crisis should end them by November, Brussels said on Tuesday. Austria, Denmark, Germany, Sweden and non-EU Norway introduced the ID checks in 2015 and have been allowed to repeatedly prolong them at set intervals. Sweden said earlier Tuesday that it.. read more →

03 May 2017

Georgian citizens can travel to the Schengen Zone without a visa

On March 1, 2017, Georgians have been granted the freedom to travel to the Schengen Area member states. The signing ceremony took place in Brussels on the same day, while the regulation will come into full effect on 28 March, 2017. From 28 March, 2017 Georgian citizens holding biometric passports can travel to the Schengen Zone.. read more →

27 Mar 2017

Visa Statistics 2016: Schengen States issued 13.9 million visas for short stays

The statistics published recently by the European Commission reveal that 13.9 million applications for short-stay visas were lodged at the consulates of the Schengen States in 2016, 1.65% less than in 2015 and 9.17% less than in 2014, and declining for the third year in a row. The percentage of applications that were refused varied widely.. read more →

27 Mar 2017

European Parliament votes to end visa-free travel for Americans

The visa-free travel for US citizens within the EU has been voted to end by the European Parliament, after the US failed to agree upon visa-free travel for the citizens of the five following EU countries: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Poland, Croatia, and Romania, as part of the reciprocity agreement. The vote, which has been prepared by.. read more →

03 Mar 2017

From March 28, Georgian citizens can enter the Schengen Area without a visa

Georgians can now freely travel to the European Union (EU) for the standard period of a 90-day stay within any 180-day period. Giorgi Kivirikashvili, Georgia’s Prime Minister has also congratulated Georgian citizens upon signing the regulation on visa liberalization. The signing ceremony was attended by Georgia’s Foreign Minister – Mikheil Janelidze, European Parliament member –.. read more →

03 Mar 2017

Ukraine Moves Step Closer To Visa-Free Travel In EU

Negotiators for the European Parliament and European Union member states have reached a deal to allow Ukrainian citizens to enter Schengen zone countries without a visa. Ukrainian citizens who have biometric passports will be able to enter for up to 90 days during any 180-day period, the parliament said in a statement on March 1… read more →

02 Mar 2017

The isolated pro-Europeans: How much time is left?

PRISTINA – Clock is ticking, days (and years) are passing, but one thing remains: Kosovo citizens are the only ones in the Balkans still isolated! Nine years after the declaration of independence, Kosovo remains the only country in the Balkans and also a potential candidate to join the EU who still does not have visa.. read more →

01 Mar 2017

Thousands of visa abuses at Hungarian embassy in Moscow

Thousands of business visas were issued by Hungary’s embassy in Moscow in 2013 without proper checks, according to an internal report of the Hungarian foreign ministry . The foreign ministry, wanting to keep the report secret, only published the document on Wednesday after a small opposition green party, the LMP, won a legal battle against.. read more →

10 Feb 2017

Schengen area: Council recommends prolongation of internal border controls

On 7 February 2017, the Council adopted an implementing decision setting out a recommendation to prolong temporary internal border controls in exceptional circumstances. Starting from 11 February 2017, when the previous decision expires, Austria, Germany, Denmark, Sweden and Norway should prolong proportionate temporary border controls for a maximum period of three months at the following.. read more →

08 Feb 2017

European Parliament Approves Visa-Free Schengen Travel For Georgia

The European Parliament has voted overwhelmingly to approve visa liberalization for Georgia, paving the way for Georgians to travel to the European Union’s Schengen zone without obtaining visas. European lawmakers backed visa liberalization, long anticipated in Georgia, by a vote of 553 to 66, with 28 abstentions. Georgians will still have to wait for the.. read more →

02 Feb 2017