• zh-hans
  • tr
  • ru
  • fr
  • es
  • en
  • de
05 Jul 2018

European Parliament has given its final agreement to establish ETIAS and to strengthen the mandate of eu-LISA

European Parliament has given its final agreement to establish ETIAS and to strengthen the mandate of eu-LISAToday, the European Parliament has given its final green light to the establishment of the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), which had been proposed by the EU Commission in November 2016 and June 2017. The Parliament has also welcomed the strengthening of the mandate of the EU Agency eu-LISA for the operational management of large scale IT systems in the area of freedom, security and justice.

The adoption of the legislative proposals were welcomed by the Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos, who said that the Commission today took an important step towards achieving the goal of delivering a Europe that protects.

“A stronger eu-LISA will be the nerve center of our information systems for borders, migration and security, and the new ETIAS will ensure that we no longer have an information gap on visa-free travellers. Anyone who poses a migratory or security risk will be identified before they even travel to EU borders, while the travel of bona fide travellers will be facilitated” he said, thanking both rapporteurs for their leadership and commitment to building a safer Union for our citizens.

Whereas, the Commissioner for the Security Union Julian King said that the EU officers and border guards need to have the right tools to do their jobs, in order to be able to keep safe the citizens of the EU and to secure its external borders.

“ETIAS will pre-screen visa-free visitors for potential security problems, while the reinforced eu-LISA will allow us to continue to modernize EU-wide information systems for law enforcement and border management,” he said referring to the European Travel Information and Authorization System, which is an online authorization for third country nationals who have established visa-free regime with the European Union.

According to the new changes, all visa-free travellers will have to request an ETIAS online, before traveling to the Schengen area. It is estimated that the application will take around 10 minutes to complete and it will cost 7 euros to each applicant, regardless of their age and nationality.

The system is very similar to the United States Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA), while many other countries have established similar schemes. Currently, the nationals of 62 non-Schengen area countries are allowed to enter the EU without a visa, for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

Now, both texts on the ETIAS and the eu-Lisa need to be finally adopted by the Council, and the President of the European Parliament and the rotating Presidency of the Council need to sign them into law. After their publication in the Official Journal of the European Union, both regulations will enter into force after a period of 20 days.

39 million visa-free travelers from more than 60 countries are expected to visit the EU in 2021 compared to 30 million in 2014.

Related information data-matched-content-rows-num="4,3" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,3" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked,image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">