• zh-hans
  • tr
  • ru
  • fr
  • es
  • en
  • de
03 May 2019

Bavarian Minister President We Support Bulgaria’s Accession to Schengen

Markus SoederBavarian Minister President Markus Soeder said on Thursday that the Federal German state of Bavaria supports Bulgaria’s accession to the border-less Schengen area. The Minister President said so during a press conference after a meeting with the Bulgarian Prime Minister Boyko Borissov at the Council of Ministers.

He praised Bulgaria for “remarkably guarding Europe’s external borders, and achieving a lot for the European Union.”

Today Bulgaria is showing how strong and stable it is, and how important and significant the efforts are to preserve security of the European Union’s borders,” Soeder commented.

On the other side, Prime Minister Borissov said that he informed the Bavarian Minister President Markus Soeder on how Bulgaria guards the external Borders of the EU. He also highlighted that Bulgaria is the first in Europe in terms of arrested and sentenced migrant traffickers, which according to him shows that “Bulgaria strictly abides by its commitments.”

During Thursday, both leaders also signed a Joint Declaration for Cooperation in Security and the Fight against Crime between the Government of Bulgaria and the free state of Bavaria.

Previously during the Together for Europe EU enlargement 15th anniversary summit, Prime Minister Boyko Borissov said that the full membership in the Schengen Area remains a key priority for Bulgaria.

Schengen is an achievement we must preserve, its future must be a symbol of a united Europe,” Borissov also said.

Bulgaria is among the only four EU countries that are still not part of the Schengen Zone, alongside Romania, Croatia and Cyprus, not including the UK and Ireland that chose to opt-out.

The European Parliament members called on the admission of Romania and Bulgaria in the Schengen Zone in June 2011 for the first time. Since then, the MEPs have shown their support several times.  An overwhelming majority of the European Parliament members voted in favor of a resolution that calls on the admission of Romania and Bulgaria into the Schengen zone, in December 2018.

Related information data-matched-content-rows-num="4,3" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,3" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked,image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">