• zh-hans
  • tr
  • ru
  • fr
  • es
  • en
  • de
03 Mar 2017

From March 28, Georgian citizens can enter the Schengen Area without a visa

From March 28, Georgian citizens can enter the Schengen Area without a visa

Georgians can now freely travel to the European Union (EU) for the standard period of a 90-day stay within any 180-day period. Giorgi Kivirikashvili, Georgia’s Prime Minister has also congratulated Georgian citizens upon signing the regulation on visa liberalization. The signing ceremony was attended by Georgia’s Foreign Minister – Mikheil Janelidze, European Parliament member – Mariya Gabriel, who is also a reporter on Georgia’s visa liberalization process, as well as other officials from the EU and Georgia.

The official time when Georgians can enjoy short-time visa-free travel within the EU/Schengen Area Member States will be published in the official magazine of the EU, due March, 8th. 20 days after, will be the time when Georgians can start the visa-free travel towards the EU.


“Georgia is a vital area for EU security and will be a reliable partner of the European Union, just as it has been up until now.” – stated Kvirikashvili during his meeting with President Tajani, promptly after the signing ceremony.

Upon Tajani’s election as President of the European Parliament, the head of the Georgian government has congratulated him and invited the President to Georgia.

The parties, during the meeting at the European Parliament, have discussed Georgia’s ongoing reforms, and other relevant challenges, such as the state of affairs in Georgia’s occupied territories.

Both, the Prime Minister of Georgia and the President of the European Parliament, did not hesitate to point out the challenges facing the anti-terrorism efforts and continued to emphasize the importance of joining forces.

“The lifting of visa requirements for Georgians is an extended expression of political support towards Georgia by the European Union. Today, the European Union’s doors opened to Georgian citizens. This is a tremendous achievement, as much as a step towards Euro-integration.” – said the PM, Kvirikashvili.

Georgia’s Prime Minister also thanked Georgia’s friends at the European Parliament, the European Commission and Council, and his Georgian citizens and colleagues for their support in implementing important reforms in their country.

“We need to continue the implementation of reforms to become full-members of the European family and we will surely achieve this with the help of Georgia’s population.” – continued Kvirikashvili.

The European Parliament voted in favor of visa-free travel to the Schengen Area for Georgian citizens at a plenary session held in February 2nd.

Georgians who hold biometric passports will be able to enter the Schengen Area’s member states for 90 days within any 180-day period for holiday, business or other purposes, except work.

Latest from Schengen Visa News/Blog